Saiho-ji (Kokedera Temple) 【World Heritage】
The official name of the temple is Saihoji. Originally built by the priest Gyoki in Nara period (710-794), and reconstructed as a Zen temple by Musou Soseki in 1339. The temple is also known as a 'moss temple' since its garden is covered with about 120 kinds of moss. The scenery of moss and straight tall trees is just beautiful. The garden is regarded as one of the oldest in Japan. An application for visiting on a reply-paid postcard is necessary.